Minimalist HNL

If you’ve been here before and you are looking for the 31 days entries, you can scroll down to the bottom of this page for an index of all the entries for the month. Thank you for stopping by!

31 daysHello!
Chances are if you are landing on this page, you wandered over here from the 31 Days project page from the The Nester.  So let me take a moment to introduce my theme (I introduce myself on my About Me page which you can find HERE ).

What is minimalism?

The odd thing about minimalism is that for a such a simple concept, it’s very hard to define. Every minimalist looks different from the next, and we’re all convinced that we’re doing it the exact right way for us.  We defy being thrown under one umbrella definition because at its heart minimalism isn’t about living with as little as possible. It’s not even about meeting a list of specific sacrifices.  It’s about making more: more time, more money and more room. You see, minimalists think today’s culture which teaches Stuff = Joy has it all wrong. Stuff doesn’t bring joy. It buries joy.  Stuff requires care and maintenance. We have to clean it and house it and feed it – gas, time, money, electricity.  Stuff costs far more money than most of us have so we work harder to pay for stuff we couldn’t afford in the first place and now we don’t have time to enjoy.  This isn’t the kind of more I am talking about.  Minimalism is a living model of addition by subtraction. To the last man, woman and family, minimalists agree that by reducing life to the things we love most deeply, we will exponentially increase our joy. We all look so different because what we love is highly individual.  What is it you love most? What would you sacrifice to have more of it? When you stop thinking about making those changes and actually begin changing…then you are a minimalist.

I first started really examining minimalism two years ago for the 31 Day Project.  My theme was “31 days of Simply Living.”  I had no idea then which direction the path would take when it forked from simplifying my life to radically redefining the way I thought about pretty much everything. It’s been quite an adventure. I’ll talk about it here in the next 31 days as well as examining where the road may lead next. Which leads us to the next question:

What is ‘HNL”?

Around my home, we use the term HNL often. It’s the acronym for ‘Hole Notha Level.  In other words, I’ve written about these things before.  But when I wrote about them, I was a beginner, examining and dabbling, with more questions than answers and very little experience.  Two years later and hundreds of pounds lighter, I think many of my early philosophies have changed.  I want to think about what has worked, what has failed, and what just needed a different approach.  I have so much more to learn, however I also know it’s time to share some of what I have learned already and possibly convince you that there’s more joy and time for you too. It’s just buried under a lot of your stuff. There’s a manageable solution for that. Let’s talk about it for the next 31 days.

October 1: 10 Reasons you can’t be a Minimalist Pt 1 
October 2: 10 Reasons you can’t be a Minimalist Pt 2
Ocotber 3: 10 Reasons you can’t be a minimalist Pt 3
October 4: Gypsy Life
October 5: The Imperfect Minimalist
October 6: The Bottom Line
October 7: Treasure
October 8: The First Rule of Minimalism
October 9: Life Outside the Box: 5 things we’ve learned since turning off cable
October 10: Time Out
October 11: Numbering
October 12: Closets: an American Horror Story
October 13: A Tale of Four Closets
October 14: Begin With the End in Mind
October 15: Living Spaces: 5 ways to Regain Control
October 16: Intermission
October 17: Some Days are like that. Even for Minimalists
October 18: Kid Stuff
October 19: Ten Kitchen Tips for the Minimalist
October 20: Four Steps to a bedroom Beautiful
October 21: Seeking God ( Middle Places)
October 22: Divided
October 23: Before I Die
October 24: Life beyond Housework
October 25: Eight Lessons Minimalism has Taught Me

 

14 thoughts on “Minimalist HNL

  1. I have started this process but have discovered, as you mentioned, that it is not quite as simple as one thinks it should be (if that makes sense). So I am quite excited and looking forward to reading what you have to say, especially given that you’ve got two years on me in this journey 🙂

      • How do you feel that you get to “know yourself better” through minimalism? Is it the value you place in certain things (and not in others)?

        I’m giving minimalism a shot, and I thought I would feel different. I don’t.

      • Everyday…girl,
        Minimalism isn’t a miracle cure, it’s a process. It’s only October 7th. Some things take time, often a great deal of time to produce noticeable change. This is something that I have been actively pursuing for two years…and not so actively for several years before that. I wouldn’t expect that you would feel different in seven days.
        And yes, to your second question that is part of it. Being a minimalist has not only cleared space in my home, it’s cleared space in my mind. It has allowed me to examine my thoughts and my motives and it has given me the time and freedom to explore. But again, this is after several years. The first step is almost entirely physical-clearing space and debt is what brings the mental and emotional space needed to examine your heart and mind. It’s the space you need to even be able to hear anything but the demands that stuff, and appointments and agendas place on you.
        Be patient. Go slow. Give it time. It’s a journey worth making, but it takes longer than a simple elevator ride.

  2. Pingback: The Imperfect Minimalist | Mo'Joy Abundant

  3. Pingback: The Bottom Line | Mo'Joy Abundant

Let's talk about it...

